

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 2, 2017 Contact: Ellen Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

## Taekjip Ha to Receive the 2018 Kazuhiko Kinosita Award in Single Molecule Biophysics

Rockville, MD — The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that Taekjip Ha, Professor in the Departments of Biomedical Engineering and Biophysics and Biophysical Chemistry, Johns Hopkins University, and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, will receive the 2018 Kazuhiko Kinosita Award in Single Molecule Biophysics. Ha will be honored at the Society's 62<sup>nd</sup> Annual Meeting at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, California, on Tuesday, February 20, during the Awards Symposium. He will also give a short talk at that time.

Ha is being recognized for his leadership in the development of single-molecule techniques and their application to nucleic acid processing enzymes and particularly for his efforts to elevate an appreciation of single molecule studies among scientists in general. The Award, founded in 2016, recognizes outstanding researchers for their exceptional contributions in advancing the field of single molecule biophysics. This award honors the life and work of Professor Kazuhiko Kinosita, Jr., who helped to establish the field. The award is intended to encourage investigators, to promote further developments in single molecule biophysics, to advance the type of cross-disciplinary research that is characteristic of this field, and to elevate an appreciation of single molecule studies among scientists in general.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on these awards, the Society, or the 2018 Annual Meeting, visit <u>www.biophysics.org.</u>

## OFFICERS

President Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

President-Elect Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

Past-President Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Secretary Frances Separovic University of Melbourne

Treasurer Kalina Hristova Johns Hopkins University

Executive Officer Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

## COUNCIL

Zev Bryant Jane Clarke Bertrand Garcia-Moreno Teresa Giraldez Ruben Gonzalez, Jr. Ruth Heidelberger Robert Nakamoto Arthur Palmer Gabriela Popescu Marina Ramirez-Alvarado Erin Sheets Joanna Swain

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL Editor-in-Chief

Jane Dyson

## **COMMITTEE CHAIRS**

Awards Betsy Komives **Early Careers** Bert Tanner Education Gina MacDonald Finance Kalina Hristova Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado International Relations Daumantas Matulis **Member Services** Frances Separovic Membership Juliette Lecomte Nominating Art Palmer **Professional Opportunities** for Women (CPOW) Gabriela Popescu **Public Affairs** Edward Egelman **Publications Olaf Anderson** Thematic Meetings **Richard Aldrich**